Marvin Sapp Releases Phenomenal New Album, ‘Close’

Marvin Sapp Close album cover

Marvin Sapp is Continuing to Serve His Life Purpose With The Release of His Latest Album

Everyone has a purpose in life, whether you are deemed to be a good person or bad, and even if you know what your purpose is or don’t, you are here for a reason. Marvin Sapp is a phenomenal force who is using his talents to serve his life’s purpose. Sapp is an American Gospel singer, as well as a pastor who believes in his purpose for being on earth.

He lives by the belief of letting God use you to deliver a message. “Unfortunately, sometimes, the messenger becomes bigger than the message,” he says at an album release concert for his latest album, Close. Sapp began letting God use him for his life purpose at the age of four when he started singing at his church in Michigan. Little did he know then, he was following in the footsteps of his purpose.

From singing in church, Sapp moved on to singing with Gospel groups and ensembles throughout his teenage years. He graduated high school and began his college journey at Aenon Bible College where he eventually dropped out in 1991 after being welcomed to join the group Commissioned by Gospel singer Fred Hammond.

In 1996, Sapp walked away from the group to become a contemporary Gospel solo artist, on a pursuit to fulfill his life’s destiny. While Sapp has recorded several albums, such as Marvin Sapp, his debut album as a solo artist, Grace & Mercy, his second studio album, and Nothing Else Matters, the third studio album, in 2007, Sapp created his best-selling and seventh album, titled Thirsty.

Thirsty debuted at number twenty-eight on the U.S Billboard 200. It also reached number four on the U.S billboard top R&B/Hip-Hop albums, and of course, he was also blessed when he reached number one on the U.S Billboard Top Gospel Albums. After selling 500,000 copies, Sapp’s album, Thirsty, became certified gold becoming his best-selling album to date.

Despite using his singing and music to offer a message to the world, Sapp is also using his voice as a pastor of Lighthouse Full Life Center Church to uplift those in need. In 2015, on July 10th, Sapp became a bishop at Global United Fellowship, an organization of Christian ministries his church is part of.

As somebody who tends to have a lot on their plate and do everything at once, when Sapp was asked how he balances being a Gospel singer and a pastor, his response was life-changing. “That’s a great question,” he expresses, “I don’t balance because when you are balancing there is always a chance that you will lose balance. I prioritize.”

Marvin Sapp

In that moment, I witnessed him serving his purpose. Between his outstanding singing voice, his uplifting words of encouragement, and prayer session, I am positive everyone in attendance of his album release concert walked away with something that could change their life that night.

On his latest album, Close, Sapp has a song called “Listen”. He explains his reason for making the song is because, most of the time, all we have to do is listen. Sapp states, “It’s not always a voice you will, though, sometimes, you can hear what God is trying to tell you in silence if you just listen. Pay attention to situations you go through because it’s not always about what happened to you, but what you learn from and how you handle it.”

Sapp’s ten-track album, Close, was released on September 29th, 2017. It is available at all major retailers and digital music outlets. In an interview, Sapp explains, “This is my personal walk and experience over the last seven years. I believe no matter how crazy my life has been, God has to be up to something! He has made me some specific promises in His word, so I am holding fast in my encouragement as I encourage others. I want to encourage people. You’re closer now than ever before. The ten songs on Close speak to the entirety of the aspect of you being an overcomer and an encouraged one at that.”

Marvin Sapp Close Tracklist

01.  Safe In You
02.  He Is
03.  Listen
04.  Me & You Together featuring Erica Campbell
05.  Kind God
06.  Face To Face
07.  Carried Me
08.  All In Your Name
09.  Close
10.  Light The Way

Marvin Sapp’s Close album can be purchased HERE!

Lead single and title-track, “Close”, available for listen below! 

Readers Also Liked:

Tina Campbell[INTERVIEW] Tina Campbell Focuses on Music, Final Season of Mary Mary Series, & Glory of Favor

Tye Tribbett’s ‘The Bloody Win’ Releases This October

[INTERVIEW] Preashea Hilliard Talks Releasing Her Second Album After Six-Year Hiatus